Walker Ray, MD, chair of the Research Committee, is a retired pediatrician with over 40 years of experience practicing medicine in Georgia. He also currently serves as the President of the Physician’s Institute for Excellence in Medicine. Dr. Ray has particular expertise in the areas of pediatric / primary care medicine, and the broader array of societal and economic issues impacting physicians’ practice of medicine.

Throughout his career, Dr. Ray has held numerous leadership positions, including President of the Medical Association of Georgia, Chairman of the Legislative Council of the Medical Association of Georgia, Chairman of the Pediatrics Department at DeKalb Medical Center in Atlanta and President of the DeKalb Medical Society.

Along with his leadership at renowned medical organizations and societies, Dr. Ray has been recognized for his outstanding work in medicine, including being awarded the Medical Association of Georgia Distinguished Service Award and the DeKalb Medical Society Julius McCurdy Citizenship Award, which recognizes outstanding community service.

Dr. Ray received his medical and bachelor’s degree from Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia and is a member of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. Recently, Dr. Ray received the prestigious J. Pollard Turman Alumni Award from Emory University, given to distinguished Emory alumni who have demonstrated exceptional volunteer leadership. Dr. Ray also serves on the Emory University Candler School of Theology Board of Advisors.