Award Winners

2024 Medical Innovator Award Winner

E. Mirna Mohanraj, MD

Dr. Mohanraj, Vice Chair for the Mount Sinai Health System Department of Medicine, Associate Program Director for the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Mount Sinai Morningside and Mount Sinai West Hospitals, and Associate Professor of Medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, is honored for her exceptional contributions to innovation in the intensive care unit (ICU). Due to high workload, non-communicative patients, physician burnout and disengagement, ICU patients are at a high risk of dehumanization. Dr. Mohanraj’s award-winning work addresses the dehumanization of ICU patients through a novel narrative medicine intervention.